As advocates for Brackenridge Park, the all-volunteer members of the Brackenridge Park Conservancy Board of Directors play active roles in preserving and enhancing the Park’s natural, historic, and recreational resources for the enjoyment of current and future generations. Along with our Advisory Board and Stakeholders, we come together to address the needs of the Park as one voice.

Chief Executive Officer

Terry Brechtel, Interim

Executive Committee

Nicolas S. “Nick” Hollis, Chair
Lukin T. Gilliland, Jr., Vice President, Finance Chair
Timothy L. “Tim” Swan, Secretary
Suzanne Scott, Treasurer

Board of Directors

Joeseph D. "Joe" Calvert
Mary Alice Cisneros
Lewis F. Fisher
Ana M. “Cha” Guzman, Ed.D.
Robin P. Howard
William B. “Bill” Kingman
Joe Earl Linson
Suzanne Mathews
Charlotte Mitchell 
Ricardo Romo, Ph.D.
Claudia Salinas
Robert F. “Bob” Scherer, Ph.D.
Stuart S. Selig
Leticia Van de Putte
Samuel M. “Mac” White
Homer Garcia III, Ex Officio
Director, San Antonio Parks and Recreation
Kathy Rhoads, Ex Officio
President, Conservation Society of San Antonio

Advisory Board

Charles A. Birnbaum
Anthony “Tony” Cantu
C. LeRoy Cavazos-Reyna 
Everett L. Fly
Jordan Ghawi
Michelle Lugalia-Hollon
Eduardo Parra
Maria Pfeiffer
Corinna Holt Richter
Ethel T. Runion
Robert R. “Rick” Shaw
A.J. Sturm

Stakeholder Advisors

Paula Butt Cathedral Park
Vincent L. Michael Executive Director, Conservation Society of San Antonio
Kathy Rhoads Board President, Conservation Society of San Antonio
Daniel Menelly CEO, The Doseum
Carrie KimbellExecutive Director, Golf San Antonio/First Tee
Pamela Ball Executive Director, Headwaters at Incarnate Word
Ryland Howard Board Chair, Headwaters at Incarnate Word
Patsy Light Author
Taylor Watson Board President, Mahncke Park Neighborhood Association
Andrew Peterson President/CEO, Municipal Golf Association San Antonio
Blanquita Sullivan Board President, River Road Neighborhood Association
Gemma Kennedy Board Member, River Road Neighborhood Association
Susan Strawn River Road Neighborhood Association
Sabina Carr Chief Executive Officer, San Antonio Botanical Garden
Omar Akhil Board President, San Antonio Botanical Garden
Mary Jane Verette President/CEO, San Antonio Parks Foundation
Ken Kuwamura Board Chair, San Antonio Parks Foundation
Marcie Ince Chair, Japanese Tea Garden Committee, San Antonio Parks Foundation
Derek Boese General Manager, San Antonio River Authority
Aarin TeagueManager, San Antonio River Authority
Frates Seeligson Executive Director, San Antonio River Foundation
Gregg Eckhardt Senior Analyst, San Antonio Water System
Tim Morrow CEO/Executive Director, San Antonio Zoo
Frank Ruttenberg Board Chair, San Antonio Zoo
Sister Yolanda Tarango Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word
Sister Cindy Stacy Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word
Sister Mary Henry Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word
Vanessa B. Beasley President, Trinity University
Thomas Evans President, University of the Incarnate Word
Clinton McKenzie Project Archaeologist, Center for Archaeological Research, UTSA
Marise McDermott President/CEO, Witte Museum
Ryan Berg Board Chair, Witte Museum
Cappy Lawton Jingu House

Current Projects

What's New at Brackenridge Park

12th Annual Parktoberfest!

12th Annual Parktoberfest!